Iloilo Provincial Government website

11 Provincial Government Scholars Get Top Honors

Create: 03/26/2015 - 15:46

Eighteen provincial government scholars under the “Iskolar sang Iloilo” program are graduating this year with 11 of them getting the top honors.

Seven graduates will receive cum laude honors while four graduates will receive magna cum laude honors.
The Iloilo provincial government will give cash incentives to 18 “Iskolar sang Iloilo” graduates in appreciation of their achievements. Magna cum laude graduates will be given P5,000 each while cum laude graduates will receive P3,000 each. Graduates without honors, on the other hand, will receive P1,000 each.
The magna cum laude graduates are: John Frederick C. Bugayong (WVSU), Jelyn L. Clar (WVSU-Calinog), Jonathan S. Peñol (WVSU), and Lea Joy S. Sicabalo (WVSU).
Graduates with cum laude honors are: Arlene B. Ciudad (WVSU), Reeann B. Dailo (WVSU), Mary Ann E. Elamparo (WVSU), Jose Fretz H. Morillo (WVSU-Janiuay), Angelie Christine A. Pomado (WVSU-Janiuay), Frea Lyn D. Soberano (WVCST), and Deverly T. Torremoro (WVSU).
The other “Iskolar sang Iloilo” graduates are: Julie Ann M. Aceña (WVSU), Emie Joy A. Balayo (WVSU), Charlie G. Capili (WVSU), Charlene Mae V. Centeno (WVSU), Lorly J. Conejo (ISCOF-Barotac Nuevo), Bryan O. Molina (NIPSC-Estancia) and Danrey P. Pagaypay (WVCST).
“Iskolar sang Iloilo” was established by Gov. Arthur Defensor, Sr. in 1996 to assist poor but deserving students in the province by providing them the opportunity to pursue college education.
It is open to all incoming college students who are bonafide residents of Iloilo province, belong to families with annual gross income of not more than P120,000 per annum, and belong to the upper 10% of the graduating class.
Seven scholars from each of the five congressional districts are chosen every school year.
The qualified scholars will have the opportunity to enroll in a four-year Baccalareate Degree in any State Universities and Colleges in the City and Province of Iloilo.
Aside from free tuition, the scholar is also entitled to P2,000 monthly allowance, P1,000 book allowance per semester, and P1,000 clothing allowance.