1st District

Create: Wed, 11/10/2021 - 12:10
Author: Duds Daquilanea

District Representative: 

Municipalities of the 1st District of Iloilo
Municipality Classification Land Area (Has.) No. of Barangays Population (2020 census) Distance from the City (kms)
Oton First 8,456 37 98,509 10.2
Tigbauan Second 6,062 52 65,245 22.5
Tubungan Fourth 3,460 48 23,021 41.1
Igbaras Third 15,243 46 32,197 40.0
Guimbal Fourth 4,448 33 35,022 29.0
Miag-ao First 13,286 119 68,115 40.5
San Joaquin Second 23,135 85 52,617 53.0


Map of First District of the Province of IloiloThe ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH OF SAN JOAQUIN is considered to be the only militantistic church in the Philippines. It was declared as a national shrine in 1974. The construction of the church in 1859 and finished in 1869.

The SAN JUAQUIN CEMETERY was built in 1892 it is a famous for is 20-step ascending stairway leading to a grandiose hexagonal mortuary chapel popularly known as “Camposanto.”

The St. JOHN OF SAHAGUN PARISH in Tigbauan is considered to be the oldest existing church in Western Visayas. Constructed in 1578. on its churchyard remained a maker of the site of the first Jesuit boarding school for boys in the Philippines establishing in 1592.

The BANTAYAN or Moro watchtower is one of the most valuable ruins built centuries ago and maintains a noticible and significant historic integrity to the people of Guimbal along with TAYTAY TIGRE, the smallest stone bridge in Iloilo where tiger stone structures are placed in both sides.

Not to be missed is the Baroque-Romanesque style of St. THOMAS OF VILLANOVA PARISH of Miagao, declared as a National Shrine in 1973 and was included in the World Heritage List, the only one in the Visayas and Mindanao, under UNESCO n 1993. TAYTAY BONI in Miagao is considered to be one of the nine surviving Spanish Bridges in the Philippines. The weaving industry of Miagao and Igbaras boats of a long history that dates back to the later part of the Spanish era.