Capitol Press Corps Oathtaking


Governor Arthur Defensor, Jr. administered the oath of office of the new set of officers of the Iloilo Provincial Capitol Press Corps (IPCPC) last night (June 7) at the Casa Real de Iloilo.

IPCPC’s new set of officers are: Fraye Cedrick Anona of Aksyon Radyo - President; Regan Arlos of RMN-DYRI - Vice President; Lynd C Bade of Bombo Radyo - Secretary; Elyrose Naorbe of Iloilo Metropolitan Times – Treasurer; and Bingbing Josue of IBC TV12 - Auditor.

IPCPC is composed of Capitol beat reporters from different media outlets.

Gov. Defensor underscored the important role of media in helping his administration disseminate information about his programs and projects to the public.

“Our programs and projects reach our people because of your help… that is why our regular press conferences are very important because it is a venue where I can communicate to our people about what we do here in the provincial government,” Gov. Defensor said.

He also acknowledged the role of media in the achievement of his administration’s development goals under his program MoRProGRes Iloilo or Movement for a Robust, Progressive, Globally-competitive, and Resilient Province of Iloilo.

Anona replaced Elena “Bing” Pabiona of Radyo Pilipinas who served as IPCPC president for 13 years.

Anona thanked the IPCPC members for entrusting him with the “big responsibility” of leading the organization. He vowed to continue what his predecessor has started and continue to make the IPCPC a valuable partner of the Iloilo provincial government.

Also present in the oathtaking ceremony were Provincial Administrator Raul Banias, Provincial Legal Officer Atty. Dennis Ventilacion, former broadcaster and now Sangguniang Bayan Member of Miagao Richard Esposo and some provincial government department heads.